Parish Council

ChurchParish Council meetings are normally held on the first Wednesday of every month, with the exception of January which is held on the 2nd Wednesday, and take place in the Village Community Room at Somerfords Walter Powell Primary School on Dauntsey Road at 7.30pm. There are no meetings in August or December. Members of the public are welcome to attend. Details are posted up on the Parish Notice Board in the Bus Shelter.

A PDF copy of the minutes of the most recent meetings will be available for download here as soon as it becomes available. The Parish Council minutes and agendas etc are also posted on the Startley Notice Board outside the cemetery.

Great Somerford Parish Council Members

Stephen Mansfield (chairman)
Hector Cole (vice-chairman)
David Butcher
Mel Hourigan
Sarah Binstead
Alicky Gravell
Mrs F Hyde
Christopher Blount
Mrs Theresa M Chapman (parish clerk)

Members’ contact details and areas of responsibility

Privacy Notice 25 May 2018

Parish Council’s Privacy Statement

Great Somerford Parish Council Governance & Accounting Returns 2017-18

Under the new audit framework smaller authorities, including parish councils, with an annual turnover not exceeding £25,000 will be exempt from routine external audit. In place of routine audit, these smaller authorities are subject to the new transparency requirements laid out in the Transparency Code. This will enable local electors and ratepayers to continue to be able to access relevant information about the authorities’ accounts and governance.

In 2017-18 Great Somerford has certified itself as exempt from external audit by PKF Littlejohn but, in accordance with the Code, it hereby publishes:

1. Certificate of exemption
2. AGAR Section 1 Annual Governance Statement
3. AGAR Section 2 Accounting Statements
4. Annual Internal Audit report
5. Bank reconciliation
6. Explanation of Variances
7. Expenditure over £100
8. Fixed Asset schedule

Great Somerford Parish Council Minutes 2018

June 2018 (Draft)
Annual Parish Meeting – May 2018 (Draft)
Annual Parish Meeting – May 2018 – Appendix – Reports
Annual Parish Council Meeting – May 2018
Apr 2018
Mar 2018
Feb 2018
Jan 2018

Meeting Agendas 2018

Great Somerford Parish Council Meeting Agenda – Wednesday, June 6th – 7:30pm, Community Room.
Annual Parish Meeting Agenda – Wednesday, May 2nd – 7:30pm, Community Room.
Annual Parish Council Meeting Agenda – Wednesday, May 2nd – approximately 8pm, Community Room.

Great Somerford Parish Council Audit 2016-2017

Audit Certificate 2016-2017
2017 Annual Governance and Accounting Statements notice

Great Somerford Parish Council Minutes 2017

Nov 2017
Oct 2017
Sept 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
Apr 2017 (Draft)
Annual Parish Meeting – April 2017
Mar 2017 (Draft)
Feb 2017 (Draft)
Jan 2017 (Draft)

Great Somerford Parish Council Audit 2015-2016

Audit Certificate 2015-2016

Great Somerford Parish Council Minutes 2016

Nov 2016 (Draft)
Oct 2016 (Draft)
Sept 2016 (Draft)
July 2016 (Draft)
Annual Accounts 2015-2016
June 2016 (Draft)
Annual Council Meeting – May 2016 (Draft)
April 2016 (Draft)
Annual Parish Meeting – April 2016 (Draft)
March 2016 (Draft)
February 2016 (Draft)
January 2016 (Draft)

Great Somerford Free Gardens Trustees 2016

March 2016 (Draft)
January 2016 (Draft)

Great Somerford Parish Council Notices 2016

The following links have information about the construction of the footpath in Dauntsey Road which is scheduled to start on January 25th 2016 and will take between 4 and 6 weeks.
There will be an opportunity to see a much larger map of the construction details and to raise any questions you may have on Wednesday, January 13th 2016 between 5.00 and 7.00pm in the Community Room of Walter Powell School.
Dauntsey Road Footpath
Footpath Plan
Proposed Diversion Route

Great Somerford Parish Council Minutes 2015

Notice of Intent (Defibrillator Scheme) – November 2015
November 2015 (Draft)
October 2015 (Draft)
September 2015 (Draft)
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015 – Annual Council Meeting
Draft plan of proposed works to Dauntsey Road footpath.
The plan shows a minimum footpath width of 1.5 metres and a minimum road width of 5 metres.
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015

Great Somerford Free Gardens Trustees 2015

November 2015 (Draft)
October 2015 (Draft)
September 2015 (Draft)
July 2015

Great Somerford Parish Council Annual Accounts 2014 – 2015

The local government Transparency Code 2015 requires parish councils with a turnover of less than £25,000 per annum to publish this information on a website annually.

Introduction & Contents
Expenditure Summary
Annual Return Accounting Statement
Bank Reconciliation
Explanation of Variances
Annual Governance Statement
Annual Internal Audit Report
List of Councillors and Responsibilities
Register of Assets

Great Somerford Parish Council Minutes 2014


Great Somerford Parish Council Minutes 2013


Great Somerford Parish Council Minutes From Previous Years


Community Plan

Malmesbury Area Community Village Plan 2005 – 2015.


Parish Clerks Contact

Great Somerford 01249 890379
Little Somerford 01249 890379
Corston & Rodbourne 01666 825041
Seagry 01249 721335
Wiltshire Council 0300 456 0100

Your Councillor

Your Brinkworth Councillor represents you on Wiltshire County Council. The Unitary Authority is responsible for all aspects of local services and policy, including planning, transport, roads (except trunk roads and motorways), public rights of way, education, social services and libraries. Most Councillors are not paid a salary, but get a small basic allowance for the work they do.

Toby Sturgis – Conservative

Your Member of Parliament

Your North Wiltshire MP represents you in the House of Commons. The House of Commons is responsible for making laws in the UK and for overall scrutiny of all aspects of government.

James Gray – Conservative

Your Members of the European Parliament

Your 6 South West MEPs represent you in the European Parliament. They scrutinise proposed European laws and the budget of the European Union, and provide oversight of its other decision-making bodies.

Giles Chichester – Conservative
Trevor Coleman – UK Independence
Julie Girling – Conservative
William (The Earl of) Dartmouth – UK Independence
Sir Graham Watson – Liberal Democrats
Ashley Fox – Conservative